CEiMB: Tuscan Vegetable Soup

I am so excited to be hosting the recipe of the week!

As some of you may remember, my first recipe choice, Salmon with Sweet and Spicy Rub, I ghost-hosted, because our computer crashed about two weeks earlier and we had not replaced it yet.

With Fall being ushered in in so many parts of the country, I thought a nice, warm soup would be just the ticket to warm up all of those cold bellies out there. Of course, being in Florida and experiencing near record high temps right now – its been above 90 degrees with a heat index 100 or higher for over 7 days straight – I had to crank up the AC to make ours!

We do eat a lot of soups for dinner since our eating habits have changed, and my doctor suggested to me to start making dinner a lighter meal, like you would typically eat for lunch. Now, soups, salads and sandwiches, and a lot of veggie omelets make up our evening meals.

I didn’t follow the directions preceisely. I didn’t precook any of the veggies. I like layering my veggies in my broth and letting all of the flavors meld as they cook, so that is what I did. It also made the soup fat free, since I didn’t need the oil!

As many different ways that I have seasoned soup, I have to admit that I don’t believe I have ever used Thyme. What a pity! It was a beautiful flavor with the veggies, and I will be using it again, for sure!

I just love cooking with all of the fresh veggies…nature’s rainbow – you gotta love it!

100_3009

Here’s a steaming bowl of the good stuff:

100_3012

Don’t forget to see what everyone else thought! Thanks for cooking with me!

Tuscan Vegetable Soup

courtesy of Ellie Krieger

  • 1 (15-ounce) can low-sodium canellini beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 large onion, diced (about 1 cup)
  • 2 carrots, diced (about 1/2 cup)
  • 2 stalks celery, diced, (about 1/2 cup)
  • 1 small zucchini, diced (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme leaves (or 1 teaspoon dried)
  • 2 teaspoons chopped fresh sage leaves (or 1/2 teaspoon dried)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 32 ounces low-sodium chicken broth or vegetable broth
  • 1 (14.5-ounce) can no salt added diced tomatoes
  • 2 cups chopped baby spinach leaves
  • 1/3 cup freshly grated Parmesan, optional

In a small bowl mash half of the beans with a masher or the back of a spoon, and set aside.

Heat the oil in a large soup pot over medium-high heat. Add the onion, carrots, celery, zucchini, garlic, thyme, sage, 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper, and cook stirring occasionally until the vegetables are tender, about 5 minutes.

Add the broth and tomatoes with the juice and bring to a boil. Add the mashed and whole beans and the spinach leaves and cook until the spinach is wilted, about 3 minutes more.

Serve topped with Parmesan, if desired.

16 responses to “CEiMB: Tuscan Vegetable Soup

  1. We loved this soup. I made it exactly as she specified, but I left out the parm on top as we thought we would like it better without it. It was easy, flavorful, and a big hit here on a cold and rainy day! Thanks for the pick, we loved it!

  2. Thanks for the good choice! I loved if even if Spencer and Landon refused to touch it. More for me! 🙂

  3. Thanks for the pick this week. It was the perfect cold weather dinner. I’m sure that I will make this again.

  4. We’re having warm temperatures here as well, but the quick cooking time of this recipe kept my apartment from heating up too much, thankfully! Either way, this soup was totally worth it – delicious!

  5. It is so hot in TX. I want to eat soup in the cold. Better yet, I want to eat THAT soup in the cold.

  6. It was a terrific choice. Great recipe and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
    As for your 90 deg temps, not sure if I can sympathize. It was 33 here this morning and in my opinion ..WAY too early for THAT! However…good soup weather! 🙂

    Note: Remember to add a little fat when eating veggies since the fat helps your body get the nutrients from the veg.

  7. Thanks for such a great pick! I loved the soup! Yours looks fantastic! YUM!

  8. Thank you for selecting this recipe. It is absolutely the best, of all the recipes, so far and that says a lot.

    Both my husband and I gobbled it down (not exactly – we are little more civilized than that) but that does explain what we wanted to do.

    I owe you for such a delicious dinner for us.

  9. What a great pick! We loved this soup!
    It was 35 degress here and it SNOWED…..seems almost impossible that we live in the same country…….90 degree weather by you and snow here in NY……CRAZY!
    I ejoyed cooking with you and thanks again for the great pick!

  10. Thanks for a very delicious, easy and nutritious recipe choice! I loved it and I know it’s going to getting made quite often this winter season.

  11. Looks really delicious ..
    Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

  12. mmmmm…. a mutual friend (tammy) sent me over to check you guys out – loving the site and can’t wait to see what else you guys have ‘healthified’…. lot’s to look at so I’m off

  13. Great pick. I really enjoyed the soup and I love reading your blog.

  14. Sorry I am late posting. . it was a great pick! Thanks for a good autumn food choice. We loved it.

  15. delightfullysweet

    A great soup for a rainy day!
    Can’t wait till it rains!

  16. I posted about this today. Thanks for choosing a great recipe! We loved it!