Angel Food Loaf with Basil Berry Sauce

We bought some strawberries and blackberries at the Farmer’s Market this weekend, and I wanted to somehow use them in a dessert, when I suddenly had a vision of them spilling over a white slice of Angel Food Cake and knew their destiny.

I halved my original recipe for Angel Food cake and baked it in a loaf pan. I was so upset when I realized at first that I didn’t have any cake flour, until I remembered something on the side of my corn starch container. If you are in need of cake flour, use 3/4 a cup plus two tablespoons of all purpose flour and two tablespoons of corn starch and sift them together for one cup of cake flour. Worked like a charm!

100_2943

The berries? I had to think about how I wanted them to work together in a sauce to be poured over the cake. I finally decided that crushed strawberries with the blackberries being left whole would be a nice option.

100_2941

The addition of black pepper and basil gave the berries a wonderful undertone that would make you wonder what exactly it was. Beautiful flavor.

100_2951

100_2950

All this yummy-ness for less than 175 calories per serving…and no fat!

For the angel food cake recipe, please go here.


Basil Berry Sauce

A Lobster and Fishsticks Creation

  • 1 c. strawberries, fresh or thawed, stems removed and diced
  • 1/8 c. water
  • 1/8 c. fruit juice – I used kiwi strawberry Juicy Juice
  • 3/4 tsp dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 c.  whole blackberries

combine strawberries and liquids in a small saucepan and cook on medium heat, further crushing berries as they cook, with a fork or potato masher.

about 10 minutes into the cooking, add pepper and basil

cook for 15-20 minutes, until mixture begins to thicken and foam slightly

remove from heat and transfer to a bowl to cool

fold in blackberries and allow to further cool. Can be served chilled or room temperature,  and will thicken as it cools.

Comments are closed.