Wheat Oat Bread

100_2891

When my friend Amanda made this bread a few weeks ago, I knew I was going to have to try it. I am so glad that I did!

I have been having trouble finding wheat bread recipes that were nice and soft, not so dense.  This fit the bill – its soft and has amazing flavor. It was the perfect accompaniment to the chicken chili I made for dinner that night. If I ever get a decent bread knife, I can foresee this making awesome sandwiches, too!

The best part? It was a bread machine recipe! I have so few tried and true ones, and this was just awesome to add to my short list. Thanks, Amanda!

100_2889

Wheat Oat Bread (for your bread machine)

from Fake Ginger

  • 1 1/4 cups water
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon vital wheat gluten
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons yeast

Add ingredients according to your bread machine. Bake on wheat setting.

I also wanted to apologize for not many posts lately. I have been stuck in a rut with recipes, and I have been making a lot of throw-together salads and soups. I just found a few recipes that celebrate the beginning of autumn that I will be trying out, so stay tuned!

One response to “Wheat Oat Bread

  1. Pingback: Harissa Grilled Portobello Burgers «