Turkey Mexican Meatloaf and Honey Lime Carrots

It seems that about all we eat now is turkey and chicken. This is not a complaint, although I am on the lookout for some new recipes to mix things up a bit. I had an idea rattling round in my head for a few days, and decided that I was never going to find out if it was as good as I was thinking unless I bit the bullet and gave it a whirl!

I am always on the lookout for deals. Our local Food Lion begins to reduce meats more and more the closer to their sell by dates, and we got about 5 packs of taco seasoned ground turkey there several months ago. After using the first two in taco salads, I wanted something different to try with the others. I thought about meatloaf, and suddently, a recipe sprang to life in my mind….

100_2867

Instead of traditional breadcrumbs, I used Masa, or corn flour, which ended up being a great choice. The flavor permeated the meatloaf, giving it a nacho like flavor. I also drained the salsa in a sieve for about 1 hour in the fridge before mixing it, to prevent it from being too wet.

It was great! Hubby loved it, and so did I. I was nervous about the consistency, but it turned out great, and the flavors worked out perfectly together.

Here’s a tip: When cooking your meatloaf, place it on a cooling rack, on a cookie sheet in your oven. That way, any fat will drip off of the loaf and down into the pan. There is nothing worse than a meatloaf swimming in a pool of grease when you pull it out to enjoy it. Don’t forget to spray the rack with cooking spray, to avoid the meatloaf sticking to it!

100_2868

The perfect side dish to accompany this was another idea – honey lime carrots. These were a snap to prepare, and the flavors were very complimentary to the meatloaf.

Turkey Mexican Meatloaf

a Lobster And Fishsticks Creation

  • 1 lb package of taco seasoned ground turkey – or ground turkey mixed thoroughly with an envelope of reduced sodium taco seasoning
  • 1 cup of salsa, drained
  • 3/4 c Masa (corn flour)
  • 1 whole egg and 1 egg white
  • juice of 1 lime

mix ingredients thoroughly and form into loaf

place on cooling rack over a cookie sheet, or pan of your choosing

bake at 350 for 40-50 minutes until done

Honey Lime Carrots

A Lobster and Fishsticks Creation

  • 2 large carrots, thinly sliced – I used a mandolin slicer
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tsp Adobo
  • juice of 1 line
  • 2 tbsp honey

saute carrots in olive oil and Adobo until tender – about 15-20 minutes on medium high heat

remove from heat

add lime juice and honey and stir to coat

One response to “Turkey Mexican Meatloaf and Honey Lime Carrots

  1. Pingback: First Round Pick: Greek – Style Chicken Meatloaf «