Butternut Squash Soup

I have been so jealous of hearing my online friends talk about how its cooled off in their area, and that fall has pretty much arrived. Here in North Florida,  we get two seasons, winter – that lasts approximately three weeks, and summer – that is the remaining 49 weeks of the year.

I decided to crank up the AC and pretend it was cooler, and decided to make me some soup out of the butternut squash I got at the Farmer’s Market – one of the first of the season – I was so excited!

I decided to forego the usual recipe surfing and just wing it.

100_2839

It was so velvety smooth, it was amazing! The ginger really set the whole soup off to me – so yummy, bright, and spicy. It was delicious!

I already bought two more squash to make more!

100_2843

Butternut Squash Soup

A Lobster and Fishsticks Creation

  • 3 c. chicken broth
  • 1 1-2 pound butternut squash, peeled, seeded and cut into 1 inch chunks
  • 1 small onion, quartered
  • 2 cloves garlic, peeled and smashed
  • 1 inch ginger root, peeled and cubed into small pieces
  • 4 oz fat free cream cheese
  • 1 tbsp Adobo seasoning*
  • additional salt and pepper to taste

place all ingredients (except cream cheese) into broth and boil until squash is tender

add cream cheese and allow to melt for a few minutes

using an immersion blender (or food processor) blend until smooth

* I finally found a recipe to make my own Adobo, and after fine tuning it, I love it!

Adobo Seasoning

  • 3 tbsp salt
  • 2 tbsp black pepper
  • 3 tbsp garlic powder
  • 3 tbsp onion powder
  • 1 tbsp oregano
  • 1 tbsp turmeric
  • 1 tbsp dry mustard

Mix together and keep in an airtight jar.

Yields approximately 1 cup.

One response to “Butternut Squash Soup

  1. haha, you are so cute with your fall leaf plate. I grew up in NY and even moving as far south as DC I miss those extra lovely cool Fall days, so I can kind of relate. The soup also sounds great, I also just had some early butternut squash and can’t wait for more.