Chewy Chocolate Cookies (and A Lesson In Moderation)

Daniel was about out of cookies, and instead of buying them, I decided to bake him some.

For days, I had a nagging desire to make Chewy Chocolate Cookies – I make these cookies every year at Christmastime, and they are yummy. But, there is nothing inherently healthy about them.

100_2817

Instead of completely altering the recipe (I did make a few modifications), I decided to apply a principal I have been practicing in my quest to lose weight and become healthy – moderation.

After all, its not about dieting, it about living, and enjoying things, including indulgences, but being responsible and not being gluttonous.

I used to make these cookies the way the old me thought they should be made – for a two-fisted eater – cookies as big as your face! But, these cookies are very rich, made even richer by the dark cocoa I used this time around, so a few bite are really all you need to satiate the chocolate beast within.

So, I carefully spooned out teaspoons full, rounding them back and forth between two spoons like The Food Network taught me, and got beautiful cookies about the size of a silver dollar, just perfect for two to three bites of chocolate bliss.

100_2814

Not only are they the perfect size for a toddler, they are the perfect sized treat for anyone, without the guilt!

100_2813

The slogan Enjoy Responsibly should not be reserved to the booze industry, but most definitely applies here, as well. Give these lil guys a try, but keep em small, and enjoy responsibly!

Chewy Chocolate Cookies

modified by Lobster and Fishsticks

  • 1 c. butter
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 3/4 c. dark cocoa
  • 1 1/2 c. all purpose flour
  • 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla

combine sugar and butter, cream together and add eggs and vanilla

add cocoa and flours, combine well

— if the batter is too dry and stiff, add canola oil, one teaspoon at a time up to 2 tablespoons until a smooth, but thick dough forms

spoon by the teaspoonful into rounded drops onto cookie sheet

bake at 350 for 7-9 minutes – they will still be soft as they come out of the oven

allow to cook completely before storing

yields 48-55  two-inch cookies

One response to “Chewy Chocolate Cookies (and A Lesson In Moderation)

  1. Pingback: Holiday Comprehensive Goodie Guide «