Pork Cutlets in a Savory Cherry Sauce

We bought a big box of cherries at the Farmer’s Market last week, and I was trying to decide what to do with them in a new and interesting way.

I thought about how I have incorporated fruits of all kinds into pork dishes and all of the sudden, a dish sprung to life in my mind.

100_2402

I had some pork cube steaks in the freezer that were screaming to be a part of this, so I obliged.  Boneless Pork chops would have worked in their place beautifully.

I served them on a bed of Taboule – I cheated and used a box complete with spices. I didn’t follow their preparation directions – I mixed in a splash of olive oil and some of my blueberry pomegranate red wine vinegar, and added about 1/2  a cup of dried blueberries, to tie everything together. The blueberry undertones ran throughout thanks to the vinegars  and tart-sweet flavors melded wonderfully.

100_2405

The flavors were fantastic together. Hubby loved it, too.

Its a nice break from the ordinary, and perfect with the cherry season being in full swing!

Pork Cutlets with Savory Cherry Sauce

A Lobster and Fishsticks Creation

  • 1-2 pounds of cubed pork steaks or boneless pork chops
  • 2 cups of pitted fresh cherries
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar – I used blueberry balsamic
  • salt and pepper to taste

pit cherries and cut in half and place in a baking dish

dice onion and add

add balsamic vinegar and toss to coat

lay pork over mixture

salt and pepper the pork

cover with foil and bake at 325 for 45 minutes, or until cooked through

remove foil and turn off oven and leave dish in the oven to slightly brown pork for 5-10 mins

serve over taboule or brown rice

Comments are closed.