Garbanzo Summer Salad

I was very excited to see my next issue of Food Network Magazine come in the mail yesterday. I was even more excited to see what the 50 recipe pull out was this time around – 50 Simple Salads! Each issue has a pull out booklet that basically Cliffs Notes 50 recipes in a specific category, and I always enjoy them – helps me brainstorm.

I found one salad of particular interest to me, so I put my own spin on it, toyed with the amounts and mixed and matched ingredients to create the Garbanzo Summer Salad.

100_2407

The flavors are great together and the varying textures – the crunchy peppers and onions, the meaty garnabzos, the creamy avocado chunks are fabulous together.

100_2406

This is going to make an awesome side dish to the flounder I am broiling for dinner. (Not to mention made a nice light, fresh lunch for me today!)

100_2408

Garbanzo Summer Salad

a Lobster And Fishsticks creation

  • 1 can Garbanzo beans, drained
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeds and ribs removed and diced fine
  • 1 medium tomato, diced fine
  • 1/2 small red onion, diced fine
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, grated
  • 1 tbsp dried parsley, or 2 tbsp fresh, minced
  • 3/4 tsp cumin

mix lemon juice, garlic, olive oil and seasonings together, set aside

place all other ingredients in a bowl, pour dressing over and toss to coat

chill to allow flavors to blend before serving

One response to “Garbanzo Summer Salad

  1. Pingback: Memorial Day Ideas «