Peanut Butter Banana Pudding

100_2277

Hubby loves Banana Pudding, and he loves peanut butter, so when I came across a recipe that incorporated both together, I knew I would have to try it.

I am definitely more of a peanut butter gal, so this was something I was definitely exited to try. Not to mention I needed a lower fat version to replace my other Banana Pudding Recipe.

100_2278

I altered the recipe a little. Since it was almost entirely fat free as is, the only adjustment I made was to use reduced fat peanut butter and some PB2. If you have not heard of PB2 yet and you are watching your calories and fat, I implore you to look here. It is the most awesome stuff that ever was!

This was a wonderfully decadent treat worthy of making you feel like you are cheating, but you’re not! Its so light and fluffy in texture as opposed to the creamier texture of traditional banana pudding – perfect for a summer dessert -you must give it a try!

100_2290

Peanut Butter Banana Pudding

from The Peanut Butter Boy

8 oz nonfat Greek yogurt (or sour cream) – I used regular nonfat yogurt and about 1/4 c. less milk to compensate for the extra liquid in the yogurt
2 cups skim milk – again, I used about 1 3/4 cups
8 oz nonfat frozen whipped topping, thawed for 30 minutes
2 small packages nonfat instant vanilla pudding
2-3 bananas, in 1/4″ thick slices
1/2 (16oz) box reduced-fat vanilla wafers or graham cracker sheets – I used chocolate graham crackers
1/3 cup creamy unsalted peanut butter – I used 1/4 c. reduced fat PB and two tablespoons PB2
shaved dark chocolate, to garnish

Instructions:

1. In a large bowl whisk together the greek yogurt and peanut butter. Then whisk in the whipped topping and milk until no clumps remain. Stir in the instant pudding until well incorporated and mixture begins to thicken.

2. In a large glass serving dish or trifle bowl, form a layer of vanilla wafers, flat side facing up. Cover with a thin layer of pudding, followed by a layer of banana slices. Add another thin layer of pudding and repeat.  Refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving.

Comments are closed.