More Canning Adventures – Salsa

000_0074

Well, last year, I canned for the very first time,and the very first thing I made was Salsa. I opened the last jar of it a few weeks ago, and decided that is what would start this year’s round of canning for me, too.

000_0067

I bought a case of tomatoes and onions at the Farmer’s Market over the weekend, and that Monday, got up and got to chopping.

The only alterations I made from my original recipe was doubling the hot peppers -I used a mix of jalapeno and serrano peppers, and I added the juice of one lemon with the limes.

I did about double the recipe and got 8 1/2 quarts of salsa this time. That should get us through another year! The final tally for ingredients? About $ 1.07 per 32 ounce jar – not too bad!

000_0072

It was much easier this year, with one round already under my belt. I actually plan on giving a few of these away at Christmas too, along with some homemade corn chips.

My canning syllabus has another round of peaches – I already canned 10 pounds yesterday, but am waiting for the rest to ripen up, peach honey and chow chow, which will be undertaken tomorrow. I have already chopped up the veggies for it, so there is no turning back now!

Stay tuned for the continuing saga!

One response to “More Canning Adventures – Salsa

  1. Pingback: Peach Salsa «