Lima Bean Salad with Creamy Vinegarette

I know this probably has a lot of people going…eeew! But I for one love lima beans. There is nothing better than a big bowl of limas, seasoned and swimming in their own thick soupy goodness. Mmmmm…  So, when I found these:

100_2078

Needless to say I was enamored by the pretty speckles and had to have them!

100_2079

I read on the package that they have a sort of nutty flavor, and it recommended a cold salad type dish that I jumped on board with right away.

100_2081

It was such a nice, refreshing change to our typical side salads with cookouts. The flavors went well together and tasted fresh and exciting. Its a nice change of pace from even traditional three bean salad, because the vinegarette I chose was not nearly as acidic as that dressing typically is. I’ll keep this one on file to bring to any cookout because I know it would be widely enjoyed.

100_2082

Lima Bean Salad with Creamy Vinegarette

adapted from Vanns Beans Package

  1. ! pound dried lima, or other large beans, cooked
  2. 1 yellow bell pepper, diced
  3. 1 red onion, diced
  4. 1 c. fresh spinach, chopped fine
  5. vinegarette dressing*

Cook beans according to package directions to the point of being tender but firm. Drain

Add pepper, onion, sinach

toss with vinegarette, chill for 1-2 hours

* vinegarette:

  • 2 tbsp fat free yogurt
  • 2 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp fresh organo
  • 1 tbsp fresh chives
  • 1 tbsp fresh basil
  • 1 tbsp fresh thyme
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
  • salt and pepper to taste

chop herbs and all ingredients mix together

Comments are closed.