Homemade Lower Sodium Onion Soup Mix

One thing that I have noticed about eating healthier is that most convienece foods have been thrown out the window for us.

I know that something that I always enjoyed the use of was onion soup/dip mix…you know – like the Lipton variety. But, the salt content is enough to just absolutely gag me now.

I was at the Farmer’s Market a few weekends ago and found a 50 pound bag of onions for $12.00 and couldn’t resist the challenge to make my own mix.

I’d say the biggest thing you have to have with this recipe is patience. It took me 4-5 days to dry out the onions in my dehydrator. Once that was completed, however, the mix was a snap.

I gave it a whirl with a beef pot roast in the crock pot that night. It came out flavorful, although the flavors are a bit more subtle than the store-bought variety. I was very pleased overall, especially since it was so much lower in sodium and cost a fraction of the brand name!

100_1966

Homemade Lower Sodium Onion Soup Mix

– yields 75-100 servings, but is easily stored

  • 7-12 pounds sliced onions, dehydrated
  • 1/4 c. beef bouillon
  • 1/4 c. no-sodium beef bouillon
  • 1/4 c. salt free garlic and herb seasoning (I used Mrs. Dash)
  • 5 tbsp garlic powder
  • 5 tbsp dried parsley

mix together and store in airtight container or zip storage bags.

use 2-3 heaping tablespoons as you would use store-bought mix

One response to “Homemade Lower Sodium Onion Soup Mix

  1. Pingback: Georgia Ham «