CEiMB: Greek-Style Stuffed Peppers

This week’s Craving Ellie In My Belly recipe was chosen courtesy of The Healthy Hostess.

We like stuffed peppers in this house, and let me tell you – we liked these even better! They were so full of flavor – I do believe I found me a new standard when it comes to stuffed peppers!

Before:

blog-pics-002

After:

blog-pics-003

I did make a few alterations to the original recipe. The recipe called for bulghur, which I did not have, so I used old fashioned oats. I also used a can of diced and drained tomatoes instead of un-drained stewed ones. The only other difference is that I had reduced fat feta with basil and tomato, and I used Adobo instead of salt & pepper. Oh, and I added more oregano than it called for. Hmmm… I guess I changed more than I thought!

blog-pics-007

In any case, we loved them! Thank you for giving us a chance to try them out! Check out the site to see everyone else’s blogs and see what they thought! See you next Thursday!

blog-pics-010

Greek – Style Stuffed Peppers

from The Food You Crave

  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 1 (10-ounce) package  frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
  • 1 medium zucchini, coarsely grated (about 2 cups)
  • 1 small onion, minced (about 1 cup)
  • 1/2 cup bulghur
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 red bell peppers, halved lengthwise, cores and ribs removed
  • 2 (14 1/2-ounce) cans low-sodium stewed tomatoes, finely chopped
  • 1/3 cup crumbled feta cheese

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

In a large bowl combine the beef, spinach, zucchini, onion, bulghur, egg, oregano, salt and a few grinds of pepper. Mix until thoroughly combined.

Arrange the pepper halves cut side up in a 9 by 13-inch baking dish and fill each pepper half with the meat mixture. Pour the tomatoes over the peppers and sprinkle with the feta cheese. Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes. Uncover and bake until the meat mixture is completely cooked and the peppers are tender, about 25 minutes longer.

6 responses to “CEiMB: Greek-Style Stuffed Peppers

  1. Sara also added extra oregano in ours, I think it needed it. Looks like yours came out great!

  2. Your peppers look great!! I like the additions too. Unfortunately, this recipe was not a success for me.

  3. You made some wise tweaks. I’m glad they paid off in wonderful flavor!

  4. I don’t like peppers but these look good! I could just eat the stuffing right? 😉

  5. I think your changes sound great. I used plain reduced fat feta and I just love that stuff! Your peppers look like they turned out great.

  6. I think this recipe is my new standard too! I was prepared for my husband to hate them, with all the grains and healthiness, but he loved them:)