Attack of the Killer Tomatoes

I feel like I am in a B movie with all of these lil red guys laying around. I got 10 1/2 pints of my ‘Rotel’, and 1 1/2 pints of tomato juice from my efforts, and STILL have 55 tomatoes left, not to mention the onions, since there were no onions harmed in the making of this recipe.

I wasn’t sure about what peppers to use, because I wanted a milder flavor, so I bought some green chilles and some Anaheim peppers. I used 3 cups of Anaheim to 1 cup of the chillies, hoping that they would compliement each other well.

I guess because there were more tomamtoes, there was more moisture. I was just surprised at the amount of juice in them.

‘Rotel”-esque Tomatoes

28 c. Tomatoes, peeled and chopped

3 c. Anaheim Peppers, chopped

1 c. Green Chillies, chopped

1 can tomato paste

1/4 c. lime juice

1/4 c. lemon juice

1/4 c. parsley

4 TBS salt

Mix together and bring to a boil, ladle into jars and water bath for 20-30 minutes. Any excess juice can also be canned separately.

yield – approx. 10 pints

Comments are closed.