Onions, Tomatoes and Peppers, Oh My!

I had a wild hair that was just driving me to try canning. Since everything I read said tomatoes were the easiest, I decided to go for it, and visted Smokey’s Produce – a lil place in a local farmers market that we frequent, and got two cases of tomatoes, some bell peppers, and a 25 pound bag of Valdalia Onions.

Daniel was kind enough to want to help, as he was enthralled by all of the pretty red balls! But, alas, Mommy took the task on herself.

First batch – Salsa! This was when I realized that I overestimated the quanity of my ingredients. I made 5 pints of Salsa – this is over a GALLON, people – and I used 16 of my 105 tomatoes, and 3 onions out of my 25 pound bag! Apparently, this endeavor was going to be taking a little longer than I imagined. Lesson learned for next time!

 I couldn’t find a recipe I liked, so I mixed and matched and created my own.

SALSA
16 c. Tomatoes, peeled, cored and diced

6 c. onions, chopped / diced

3 c. bell peppers, chopped / diced

1 c. jalepeno peppers, finely diced

juice of 5 limes

1/4 c. vinegar

1 12 oz. can tomato paste

3 cloves garlic, mincedI used dried, my oregano plant is still growing

2 1/2 tbsp salt

1/4 c. fresh cilantro, chopped

2 tbsp oregano

1 tbsp black pepper

– combine all ingredients, simmer for 15-20 mins, ladle into jars and water bath for 15-20 minutes

-yield : 5 quarts

 My official taste testers – my Mother, my nephew Tommy & niece Jade gave it 2 thumbs up!

Now…its on to tackle the remianing 89 tomatoes. The plan of attack – homemade “‘Rotel’-esque” tomatoes!

Stay tuned!

 

 

3 responses to “Onions, Tomatoes and Peppers, Oh My!

  1. You have no idea how happy all those tomatoes made me! I can’t believe you did all that. I bet you don’t want to see another tomato for years.

  2. Pingback: Perch With Tomatoes, Olives and Capers «

  3. Pingback: More Canning Adventures – Salsa «